19 June, 2017 00:24

On June 6th, we had a district sports day where all of the members and missionaries in Gangneung district area gathered together for some crazy adventures! It literally was a GREAT and TERRIBLE day. It was so fun spending time with members and our investigators! We were running around, playing different games and sports – it definitely wasn’t a normal missionary day. My companion, Sister Lampert is a soccer player so she was super excited to be able to play soccer for the first time on her mission! She was actually the only female in the team. Everything was going well – till 2 seconds before the whistle blew… She jumped and landed wrong on her foot. At first, we both thought it was fine and just a small twist, but once we got home she wasn’t able to walk on it anymore! As missionaries, we have to return home if we can’t walk properly after two weeks so sadly Sister Lampert had to go back to the States so that she can heal properly. Ah I miss her so much! A few nights before she went home, I was woken up by the sound of her crying. I sat up and asked if she was OK. She was actually crying out of pain in her sleep. She woke up and just burst into tears because her leg was in so much pain. I tried to comfort her and help her as much as I could but I didn’t really know how. No matter how much I tried, I couldn’t fully understand or feel her pain. As we prayed together, I thought about the Atonement of Jesus Christ.

Alma 7:11-12

11 And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people.

12 And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.

I was her companion and even though I tried to to everything I could to ease her pain but there was so much I could do. But our Savior, Jesus Christ suffered every pain and affliction for us and he knows exactly what we are feeling. He sacrificed His life for us so that He would know how to help us and comfort us during those times. I am so grateful that we have a savior who can give us hope and peace even when we are suffering. Sister Lampert is a trooper and she chose to be happy the whole time! I can’t even imagine the pain she felt and had to endure but I’m so thankful for her positive attitude. Things were really hard that past two weeks but our testimonies are strengthened through it all.

Well since Sister Lampert had to leave, I’m now in a trio again! This is actually my 4th trio companionship on my mission!! Being in a trio is super fun, but very exhausting haha. Sister Frint and Sister Lee DaJeong have completely different personalities but it’s fun getting to know each other and introducing them to the area. It’s going to be a crazy few weeks for sure!! WOOOP!!

Leave a Reply

