MIRACLE MAY

The month of May is a special ‘Family Month’ in Korea!! On the 5th, we had Children’s Day, which is pretty much another birthday for all of the kids haha. They get spoiled with gifts and treats!! Then on the 8th, we had Parent’s day, which sadly is not celebrated as big as Children’s day, but it’s a great day for flower shops. Then we had so many other different holidays this month like Buddha’s birthday, Labour day and election day!! Buddha’s birthday is actually a HUGE celebration in Korea, so all of the streets are lit up with bright lanterns and

With all of these special holidays this month, we couldn’t let Children’s day pass by as just another day of ordinary missionary work. Last year, we had a huge zone face painting activity in 서울 and it was a great success so I wanted to try it again out here in 강릉. At first we were a bit worried because 강릉 isn’t as big as 서울 and we didn’t book a spot at the Children’s Day Festival BUT we just moved forward with faith – and it was probably the best proselyting activity I’ve ever had on my mission so far. There were lines and lines of people waiting to get their faces painted and we were able to meet so many new people that day!! We started at 10 in the morning and planned to finish a 1pm, but we ended but staying till 4pm! It was insane. To be honest, it was kind of weird to have people come up to us first, but hey, I can’t complain hehe. We met so many people who have seen us on the street but never talked to us and had no idea what we were doing in Korea, so it was a great opportunity to share what we do as missionaries and our testimonies with people in such a fun and natural environment. I think the biggest miracle of that day was meeting a former investigator who hasn’t been in contact with missionaries for over 3 years!! We’ve been in contact with her since and she is coming out to Family Home Evening activities on monday nights now! 😀 epic right?

The on Mother’s Day, I got to Skype home!! Ah I didn’t realise how much I’d missed them but it was so good to see their faces again! I am so grateful for my family. I am grateful that they planted the seed of faith in my from a young age and encouraged me to serve a mission. My family isn’t perfect and we have our struggles – but I will be forever grateful for my parents for having enough courage and strength to raise us in the gospel of Jesus Christ.

I love being in 강릉 and we are seeing so many miracles! We are working with some amazing investigators right now and my testimony of the Jesus Christ is strengthened every time I see how much they’ve changed by trying to live his gospel. I am not counting down the days but I realized I only have a transfer(6 weeks) left on my mission… I just want to do my best, work hard till the end and find as many opportunities to develop Christlike attributes in the time I have left – so that when I go home, I can continue the Lord’s work with no regrets

This week has been quite overwhelming trying to organise everything and prepare for Sister Hwang’s (황복남자매님) baptismal service – and overcome some roadblocks that always seems to pop up before a special spiritual event- but I keep remembering what President Sonksen shared with me – that these are ‘good challenges’. With a lot of things to do and not enough time, I am trying to priorities our tasks so that we can focus on the things that really matter!!

Leave a Reply

