BACK IN GANGNEUNG

67A141A971D3497DA0AEF5B145D58E59IMG_1680SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

Hey! believe it or not but I am back in 강릉 (Gangreung)!! After 4 months of serving in the middle of the capital city of Korea, Seoul, I got transferred back to the countryside! I loved serving in Shindang(신당) and being part of such a historical ward. I especially miss the members! If one thing, I’ve learnt how to be a good member and how to help the missionaries after my mission while serving in 신당. Before my mission, I had no idea what missionaries really did or how important members are in the Lord’s work. However, being around such faithful and willing members in 신당 has helped me to realise that missionary work doesn’t just end when I go home, but that this is just the start.

I served in Gangreung from July to November last year, so it feels surreal to be back in a familiar area. I got to see all of the members and investigators again which was such a special experience. It’s amazing to see the progress they’ve made in the last few months while I’ve been away. A few of them have baptismal dates and are attending church regularly!! What a miracle.

My new companion is Sister Preisler and guess what?! She’s my very first companion from Utah. I actually went to her birthday gathering on my very first Pday in Korea- when I was super jet lagged and had absolutely no idea what was going on…! It probably wasn’t the best first impression hehe. We are serving as STLs together so I’m learning so much from her everyday. Sister Preisler is a great example and she’s helping me to find so much joy in the work.

In Zone Conference, President Sonksen focused on the enabling and strengthening power of the Atonement of Jesus Christ. From King Benjamin in the Book of Mormon, we learn about the two aspects of the Atonement:
1. cleansing and redeeming power
2. strengthening and enabling power

A lot of times, we forget about the strengthening and enabling power of the Atonement. No matter how much we try and do good, we cannot become good to better without the atonement of Christ. The strengthening and enabling power of the Atonement strengthens us to do good and to serve beyond our own individuals’ capacity. So he gave us the challenge to daily and hourly, call upon the strengthening and enabling power of the Atonement to change our circumstances in our ministry. I’ve been trying to rely on the Savior and his enabling power more and more recently. There are times when I am so exhausted and don’t know if I can get through another day, but I’m learning to call upon his power to get me through – to do what I’ve been called to do. I know that he’s there to pull me up and lead me in his path — which I am eternally grateful for.

Do you accept the challenge to call upon the enabling power of the atonement?

Sister Lee

Leave a Reply

