Elder Holland

February is almost over and I’ve given up trying to keep track of time. I am excited for winter to be over and for spring to come though!! I’m SOO sick of wearing this thick winter coat every single day, but most importantly, spring flowers in Korea are incredibly beautiful.

Last week was a very special week. Elder Holland, of the 12 Apostles, came to Korea and spoke to us for 3 consecutive days. On Friday morning, he came to Shindang chapel(where I am currently serving!!) and spoke to all of the missionaries serving in Seoul and Seoul South Missions. It was a combined mission conference so there were over 300 missionaries in total, yet he still wanted to shake each one of our hands. Oh man, we were all so nervous and excited!! When it was my turn, I nervously got up and put my hand out. He firmly shook my hand and looked straight into my eyes, as if he was interviewing my soul. Even though it was only for a brief moment and there were hundreds of other missionaries around me, his whole attention was on me. For that brief moment, I felt a glimpse of what it would be like to meet the Savior and to be wrapped around his arms of mercy and love. All weekend, I felt our Saviour’s love for each one of us and and as Sister Holland said “he only desires our happiness and joy”.

On Sunday morning, there was a combined stake conference for all of the stakes in Seoul. Elder Holland expressed his pure love for the children of Korea and shared about the importance of giving our youth and young single adults every opportunity to grow in the gospel – because ultimately, we are the future of Korea and the church. He then shared his favourite scene in the Book of Mormon where Jesus Christ visits the Nephites after His resurrection. He gathers all of the children and blesses & prays for each one of them, one by one.

“… He said unto them: Blessed are ye because of your faith. And now behold, my joy is full. And when he had said these words, he wept, and the multitude bare record of it, and he took their little children one bye one, and blessed them, and prayed unto the Father for them. And when he had done this, he wept again.” 3 Nephi 17:20-22

Seeing, hearing and feeling an apostle of the Lord express his love for us and bear testimony of our Saviour, Jesus Christ in person was probably one of the most powerful experiences I’ve had in my life. Isn’t it wonderful that we have the restored gospel and that the Lord still guides His church today through prophets?!

Leave a Reply

