HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Merry(late) Christmas and Happy(late) New Year!! I hope everyone

The past few weeks were packed with exciting celebrations including Christmas, New Years, Sister Engebretsen’s birthday! 5th January was Sister Engebretsen’s birthday and my 1 year mark, so we celebrated hard!!…………. with some pancaked and banana in the morning! haha. We both started a “no sugar diet” on New Years, so we couldn’t even eat any cake šŸ˜¦ we still made it a special day though! šŸ™‚

Christmas isn’t celebrated as much here in Korea but it’s still such a special season because everyone’s spirit is a little brighter and it’s a great opportunity to introduce the ‘Christ’ in Christmas. The whole month of December, we focused on the #LightTheWorld initiative with our investigators, less actives and members. There’s no doubt that the as we testify of Christ, His light shines on us. We have a really old flip phone(in Korea, we call it a ‘grandma phone’), but somehow we managed to download the Light The World video on it and got to show it to people that way! It was amazing to feel the spirit of Christ as we showed the video, especially to our investigators.

Then on Christmas eve, our ward had a big Christmas Party. The ward members worked so hard to organise the party and getting everything set up! We had such a great turnout that the Relief Society sisters were freaking out because they thought we would run out of food!- we had just the perfect amount though šŸ˜€ that’s already a Christmas miracle itself right? šŸ˜‰ This year, Christmas was extra special because it was on Sabbath day. We had a 1 hour special sacrament meeting, where our district did a musical number… well, as most of you will know, I was not born with a special singing gift, BUT thankfully my companion was and we were able to bring the spirit of Christmas into the meeting. Then after the sacrament meeting, we witnessed a true Christmas miracle – after 4 years of waiting, Brother Nam was baptised!! Brother Nam is Korean-Chinese and he met the elders 4 years ago! He was so prepared to accept the gospel and wanted to get baptised back then, but because of visa issues, he couldn’t get baptised. Despite all these things holding him back, he continued to meet with the missionaries till he finally got his Korean citizenship and could get baptised! He is such an inspiration. I remember before my mission, I just thought baptism was over-rated but as my sister explained it “baptism is a necessary step all of us need to take to obtain eternal happiness.”

As I reflect on the past year, it’s been a roller coaster ride full of different emotions and new learning experiences. I could explain everything I’ve learnt in words but I don’t have the time or talent for that… I guess every new experience is actually a new challenge. One of our English Class members asked me why I look so happy all the time and then accused me of faking it….! Well, yes.. I have a big smile and I am happy most of the time! but I’d be lying if I said I’m happy ALL the time. Sometimes, I miss home and sometimes I’m so exhausted that all I want to do is fall asleep… BUT when I am focused on others, I forget about my problems and my weakness. I am able to feel God’s love for them and ultimately I am able to feel His love for me. I know that God lives and He love each one of us, and I am so grateful for this opportunity to share this gospel of Jesus Christ – gospel of change and happiness – with those who are seeking it.

Leave a Reply

