“Greenie”

I am officially done being a “greenie” now! My trainer, Sister Kirton, is transferring to 강릉 in the countryside and I am staying in Imun(이문)!! It was such an unexpected news because I was convinced that I would be transferring and who would’ve thought Sister Kirton would be serving in the countryside!

Anyway, I am so grateful for the opportunity I had to serve with Sister Kirton. She welcomed me to 이문 with open arms and loving heart when I had absolutely no idea what missionary work is really like. She taught me how to be a hard-working and happy missionary by her example. I will never forget the many memories and miracles we experienced while serving together the past 12 weeks. I AM GOING TO MISS HER SOOOOOO MUCH!!! ❤

Even though I feel a little bit nervous to get a new Korean companion with the responsibility of introducing the area, I am confident that the Lord is by my side and he will direct both of us. I know that we will have to work extra hard to keep the 정 and the trust of the members that Sister Kirton worked so diligently to build, but I am excited for this new challenge.

Sister Kirton and I have been reflecting a lot about the definition of ‘sanctification’ and how we can become a ‘sanctified missionary’. While watching the general conference, Elder Bendar’s talk really stood out to me. As members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, we have the opportunity to partake of the sacrament and become sanctified each week. I guess because it’s something we get to do every week, I took this incredible opportunity for granted. Last Sunday, we had the privilege of taking the sacrament to a lady who is sick in the hospital with the Elders. The Elders blessed the sacrament in the hallway of the hospital and offered it to her. Even though all we had to do was walk to the hospital, she was so grateful to us!… When I reflected on this experience, I realised that what we did for her was such a small act of service and sacrifice in comparison to what Jesus Christ did for us. He suffered for each one of us so that we have the opportunity to progress, repent and stand blameless before God. This experience helped me to appreciate the sacrament so much more.

Have a great week and hope everyone received their own revelation from the general conference!
Sister Lee

Leave a Reply

