MTC

Today is my first and last P-day at the Missionary Training Centre! I leave for Korea next Monday on 18 January… I feel nowhere ready to actually go and serve in the real world, BUT I know that I need to trust God.

I’ve been at the MTC for a week now and it honestly feels like I’ve been here for a month. Being a missionary so far has been the most fun, exciting and TIRING experience πŸ˜› I LOVE IT. The concept of time is a funny thing. Whenever I’m asleep, eating or getting ready in the morning, time seems to go by SOOOOO quickly πŸ˜₯ I set a goal to organise my outfit the night before because I’m ALWAYS the last one to get ready and I feel bad for my companions.

I’m still getting used to the fact that I have to be with my companion 24/7. I’ve never had to visit the bathroom so many times in a day… hahah especially because I am in a trio now. My companions are Sister Brooksby and Sister Kang. I love them both so much because they teach me different things and help me to become a better friend and a person in different ways. I’m learning a lot about myself as I spend more time with my companions and learn to work through both fun and tough times TOGETHER.

Sister Kang is from Ulsan, Korea and she is just a ball of happiness. I love her so much. She doesn’t speak English very well so she forces me to always speak in Korean, which is super helpful for me. She is a small girl but SHE CAN EAT LIKE A SUMO WRESTLER hahaha. All the elders are always asking her if she wants more food and she’s like “just some more potatoes”. We have the best times giggling and laughing about… nothing really… but we just find small things funny. She is always super patient with me, even when I make the silliest mistakes in Korean. I kinda feel bad because I keep getting words like “investigator” and “companion” mixed up and it messes with her Korean too hehe. I said she can blame me if she forgets Korean.

Sister Brooksby is from Las Vegas and lived in Utah for a few years. Even though she’s never lived in Korea, she speaks Korean fluently. She’s been teaching herself Korean at home by listening to Korean recordings and drama for 4 years now. I’m impressed by how diligently she studies and prays everyday. She’s a spiritual bomb. She helps both Sister Kang and I to have more confidence when teaching.

I’m slowly learning that teaching the gospel of Jesus Christ is all about listening to the investigators and focusing on their specific needs. The first few times I had to teach were so hard because it was the most AWKWARD thing ever. I didn’t really know how to naturally start the conversation so I would just be like “Hi, how are you? Let’s pray.” I’ve now learnt to just relax, be a normal person and start by asking general questions.

Yesterday, Elder Neil L. Anderson came to the MTC and spoke in the Tuesday devotional. I feel like he perfectly summarised the most important thing I’ve learnt at the MTC so far, which is to ‘always testify of Christ’. The only way we can do so is by strengthening our own testimony of Jesus Christ and His Atonement first. I love being a missionary and having the opportunity to fully focus on learning more about Jesus Christ and how we can be more like Him. It may be exhausting at times but I love that I can work hard to serve the Lord. It’s the most rewarding experience.

A funny story: an elder from my district wanted me to translate a sentence, so I asked him what the sentence was and I thought he said “You are a fast resource.” I was like ‘Umm, OK? Maybe Americans describe ‘resource’ as fast?’ I didn’t actually know what the word ‘resource’ in Korean was, so I was looking it up in the Korean/English dictionary and he was like “Sister Lee.. why are you looking up ‘resource’?” HAHAHA turns out they wanted me to translate “You are a fast race horse.” I blamed his American accent hehe, and everyone else blamed my Kiwi accent. We got told off for laughing too much.

Hope everyone has an awesome week and thank you for all of your emails!! I didn’t realise how important emails are till now πŸ˜›

Sister Lee

Leave a Reply

