What is My Purpose as a Missionary??

Today is the last day here in Provo before I enter the MTC tomorrow. Being with my sister for the past few days has been absolutely amazing. She’s given me so much encouragement and helped me to be more confident with speaking Korean. Everyone thinks I’m not Korean here… I’m way too tanned for a Korean and my accent is a bit off. Even the security officer at San Francisco airport was confused because he looked at my passport and couldn’t believe I was Korean. He thought I was Filipino haha!

I’ve been thinking a lot about my purpose as a missionary this week. At my setting apart, President Jenner asked me to bear my testimony and share why I am going on my mission. I said that I’m not going on my mission expecting to baptise everyone… but I want to share my simple testimony of our loving Heavenly Father and His son Jesus Chris. I wanted to serve & love the people so that they all know that there is someone out there of a higher being who knows us individually by our name, loves us so much and can guide us.

Then when I was talking to some Returned Missionaries afterwards, they really emphasised the importance to baptism. I was a bit confused… I know baptism is important but I didn’t want my mission to be focused on just the numbers – how many baptisms we got this month and etc. When I was studying about it and discussing it with my sister, she explained that baptism is a necessary action that needs to be taken for the investigators to progress and strengthen their faith in the Saviour. I realised that my main purpose as a missionary isn’t simply to just tell them about God and Jesus Christ or to baptise people, but for me to help them gain a sincere desire to be baptised by serving them, sharing the gospel and inviting them to exercise their faith.

I’m so grateful for this opportunity to serve the Lord and learn more about Him. I have SOO much more to learn and grow. I may be the most Kiwi-fied Korean ever and it’s embarrassing at times when I forget the easiest words in Korean.. but I know that I need to just enjoy the whole process and as Brother Will Kruger shared, we need to “look outwards more and not inwards”. I can’t be focused on myself and look inwards at how many mistakes I’m making when speaking Korean, but instead I need to look outwards and remember that I am out here for a reason – to “invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end.”

I’m so excited to go to the MTC and meet my first companion tomorrow!!!! WOOPWOOP!

Hope y’all have an awesome week 🙂

Leave a Reply

